Sign Up for Mailing List   Contact Us   Advertise    Request Reprints of Articles

NJLawman.com
N E W S,  O P I N I O N,  C O M M E N T A R Y
                                          
 

       L A W   E N F O R C E M E N T   M A G A Z I N E


2014 NJ Police Training & Schools

Visit Us on Facebook

Follow Us on Twitter

Visit
Our
2014
NJ
Police Training
&
Schools Section

 

Features

Home

NJ Law Enforcement

Site Search

Editorials

Roll Call

Opinions

Photo of the Week

Links

Site Map

 

News

Police News

News Archives Nation

News Archives NJ

L/O Duty Deaths

Events

 

Marketplace

LE Equipment

LEO Gifts

 

Click here to receive NJ Law Enforcement Bulletins

 

Training

NJ Police Training

National Training

 

Resources

Invest Resources

NJ Media Center

10 Deadly Sins

NJ Newspapers

Comp Time Law

NJ Most Wanted

Police Videos

Entry Level

Links

Police Poems

National Police Week

 

IA

IA Resource Center

Garrity Warning

 

Forums

Forums

 

NJLawman.com

About Us & Info

Advertise

Contact Us

Contact Us

 

Satellite Phones  An Asset
for Disasters

 

Law Enforcement
&
Police
Grants

 

Stinger Flashlights

What you Need to Know  Before Making a Purchase!

 

PBA Loan


Police and Law Enforcement Home    >  New Jersey Title 2C    >  Bad Checks - 2C:21-5

 

New Jersey 2C Criminal Code

2C:21-5.  Bad Checks

2C:21-5. A person who issues or passes a check or similar sight order for the payment of money, knowing that it will not be honored by the drawee, commits an offense as provided for in subsection c. of this section. For the purposes of this section as well as in any prosecution for theft committed by means of a bad check, an issuer is presumed to know that the check or money order (other than a post-dated check or order) would not be paid, if:

 

a.The issuer had no account with the drawee at the time the check or order was issued; or

b.Payment was refused by the drawee for lack of funds, or due to a closed account, after a deposit by the payee into a bank for collection or after presentation to the drawee within 46 days after issue, and the issuer failed to make good within 10 days after receiving notice of that refusal or after notice has been sent to the issuer's last known address. Notice of refusal may be given to the issuer orally or in writing in any reasonable manner by any person.

c.An offense under this section is:

(1)a crime of the second degree if the check or money order is $75,000.00 or more;

(2)a crime of the third degree if the check or money order is $1,000.00 or more but is less than $75,000.00;

(3)a crime of the fourth degree if the check or money order is $200.00 or more but is less than $1,000.00;

(4)a disorderly persons offense if the check or money order is less than $200.00.

L.1978, c.95; amended 1981, c.290, s.22; 2002, c.65, s.1.

 

 

Visit Our 2013 NJ Police Training & Schools Section

Mailing List

Receive New Jersey Law Enforcement bulletins
If you would like to receive New Jersey law enforcement
bulletins and/or law enforcement job announcements, click here.

Police and Law Enforcement Home    Advertise    Submit Your Site
Submit Police News   Police Grants    Police Forums    Police News

Copyright 2002-2014-All Rights Reserved  Law Enforcement Media Group - (Not an Official Police Department)    PERC

 

S O C I A L    M E D I A